Understanding community dynamics

Good day
I am new to system dynamics and came here because I am trying to model community interactions relating to a contentious project. SO this is non-mathematical, non-engineering but I still believe that there is a system of sorts because, for example, increasing communication between the protagonists could reduce the animosity between them. Does anyone have any ideas as to where I can find literature or ANYTHING that would help me try to build such a model?
Please
Desperate PhD student
Douglas Taylor

Hi Douglas, here are a few resources that may touch on your issue:
Community Transformation · Well Being Trust
Healing The Nation: A Policy Guide
Stewards' Resources - Rethink Health
Explore the Springboard

I hope this helps a bit! Jack Homer

What is the structure of the system in which the community is operating?
Model the structure of the system.
Community interactions involve hidden assumptions, misinformation, disinformation, fear and fallacies. Without a structure for communication, emotions take over and lead to what you labeled as "animosity ". In order to model anything, you need to have a structure. too many times people rely on words alone without understanding that people’s behavior results from the structure of the system in which they are operating.

What is the purpose of the model? Making a community model without a well defined and preferably not to general purpose will be horribly difficult with to many possible structures, influences and parameter values which will make it impossible to analyze. It will be a systemic model that will try to describe something impossible to describe being to general, not precise enough and not motivated. JJ

sorry for the miisspelling: too general, too many possible and too general. JJ

Hi there Douglas,

Welcome to the forum! Good to hear you’re trying to model a complex problem. Let me try to offer a few ideas that may help.